Not improving

Discussion in 'Question & Answer' started by snooze11, Apr 8, 2017.

1. snooze11

snooze11 Member

hello everyone! I've been playing VGC for several years now and At first I seemed to be improving but for the last 3 years I've been stuck in the same place. I haven't been able to improve my ladder ratings constantly or my win percentage, I have yet to preform above average at tournaments of any level, Ect. I've tried reading every article I can find I study past VGC tournaments and why players make the moves they did I've used successful teams from tournaments and still I don't see or feel any improvement! It's really starting to get to me. Have any of you been like this before? How did you break through that wall? Any advice would be nice I'm not sure what else to do to get to that next level. Help!

WingedDragon likes this.
  2. Pyreon

Pyreon Member

Practice, practice and practice. Discuss with other people, have someone telling you the mistakes you did while playing and so on.
    Using successful teams does not guarantee success. It has to do with your ability to use the team and that only comes with practice. Each player has their own play style and each player feels comfortable with different teams.

Practice will make you able to predict better, to manage your games better, to use your team better. Take notes, replay matches, find someone who can play with you over and over again so you can learn how to overcome some specific matchups. Those are all things that help.

I'm not a top player myself, but this is what I try to do to improve, and I feel I am improving and starting to get some small results. It may be slow for some players, for some others it may be fast. We're not all the same, some players are naturally better or have more time/resources and have quicker success. No need to panic, just have fun playing and trying to improve.

Pudgeysaurus likes this.
  3. Tamtam

Tamtam Member