Team Critique - VGC 18 Mega Meta trouble.

Discussion in 'Question & Answer' started by HardChibi, Dec 15, 2017.

Tags:
  1. HardChibi

HardChibi New Member

Hi, I recently made a team for VGC '18 and was hoping if someone could look at my team, give constructive criticism of it and maybe give me some suggestions and/or recommendations.
    I started playing VGC since VGC '15 (well only Showdown and Battle Spots) and after the new format was announced I immediately knew which Pokemon I wanted to focus on for my team, the Pokemon being Mega Metagross. I played quite a bit with Mega Metagross back in '15 and with the new speed mega mechanic in generation 7 I felt that Mega Metagross will be very strong. So, this was the team I came up with:

Metagross-Mega @ Metagrossite
    Ability: Clear Body
    Level: 50
    EVs: 12 HP / 236 Atk / 4 Def / 4 SpD / 252 Spe
    Jolly Nature
    - Ice Punch
    - Iron Head
    - Zen Headbutt
    - Protect
    Metagross is a strong Pokemon with access to Tough Claws and a 178 max speed it can hit hard and fast. Both STAB Iron Head( was chosen over Meteor Mash because of the accuracy) and Zen Headbutt hit very hard, while Ice Punch was chosen instead of Bullet Punch and Stomping Terrain mainly because I wanted to KO Landorus easily (I find the ability to KO any non scarf Landorus before it fires at you very important, more important than priority or ground coverage, and if Landorus is scarfed, Metagross can easily tank one Earthquake and then fire back) and I didn't feel like I needed a ground cover move or a priority move on Metagross. Meta's natural bulk made me not go for much defensive investment and just power and speed instead. However, I do not quite exactly remember why I gave it 12HP/4Def/4Sp.Def, I do remember one of the Def or Sp.Def EVs were because the extra 4 EV won't improve his attack stat and so it went to one of those. I think it is to survive a Mega Charizard Y Heatwave without the sun.