Team Critique - VGC18 Typical Sand Team

Discussion in 'Question & Answer' started by Shad, Dec 11, 2017.

1. Shad

Shad New Member

Hey there, VGC18 is coming and...as it is very like VGC15 but with new additions in gen 7, im a noob in here, as my only real experience in vgc was vgc17. As such, I just watched people that were better than me at teambuilding and such.

My favourite mon has always been Tyranitar, so i prety much want to do a Sand team, and then i looked at Cybertron's team and breakdown of said team, and i liked that one, but not everything about it. So, this team is pretty much like that one, certain mons are exactly like that team, but with a couple different mons. The EV spreads are borrowed from various sources as those are my weakest point when it comes to teambuilding.
    Let's get to it.
    [​IMG]

Tyranitar @ Choice Scarf
    Ability: Sand Stream
    Level: 50
    EVs: 4 HP / 252 Atk / 252 Spe
    Jolly Nature
    - Rock Slide
    - Assurance
    - Superpower
    - Ice Punch

My boy the Tyrano. Standard Sand setter, and going full offensive wiht him. Max attack and speed EV with jolly nature and choice scarf to outspeed most things, and only be slower than certain pokemon that can be handled by the rest of the team. The set provides Rock Slide for spread damage, stab and chance to flinch, Superpower and Ice punch for coverage(like other Ttar or Land-T, i hate that thing). Assurance is a weird move but i started liking it, because it can combo well with the other threats on my team, as they both have spread attacks and are faster than Ttar, so assurance will have most of the time the guaranteed 120 base BP on it.

Speaking of one of those companions...

[​IMG]
    Salamence @ Salamencite
    Ability: Intimidate
    EVs: 44 Atk / 212 SpA / 252 Spe
    Naive Nature
    - Hyper Voice
    - Double-Edge
    - Tailwind
    - Protect